I was thinking I’d do the math idea because I don’t really have much to say about this chapter. Even my annotated Bible has very sparse notes here, mostly making sure you note that the Feast of Booths (Sukkot) is a really Big Deal here, with eight days’ worth of sacrifice.

Wikipedia tells me that Sukkot gets mentioned in later books as being the day when Solomon dedicated the temple, and the date when temple activities returned after the Exile. It was one of the three feasts where people had to make a pilgrimage to the temple. All of that ended, of course, in AD 70, which is maybe why it’s no longer as big a holy day as Passover and Yom Kippur. There are still modern Jews who do practice this holiday literally and live in booths. There are even online services to find a booth if you need it.

I know this is a particularly short response here, but I’ll have a lot to say about the next chapter, so I think I’ll end it by saying that I will be on the lookout for future Sukkot references.

The Japanese: suuryou “quantity, volume” (v 17).

That’s all for this chapter, mostly due to it being incredibly repetitive.

