The downside of working in a preschool/childcare center is that when the kids get sick, if you don’t have immunity, you get sick too. Especially when one of them touches your food after wiping his nose with his hand. I have been so sick lately, but I haven’t been running a fever, and Japan has this like bizarre thought that if you’re not running a fever, you’re not sick. But I either never run a fever, or run a fever so bad that I hallucinate, which means I’ve been toughing it out at work in a mask being miserable.

I doubt I can finish Leviticus in April, especially if I keep feeling this awful, but I will still set that as the goal so that hopefully I won’t be off by more than a week.

This is another chapter that could be summarized as “Moses does what the LORD commanded,” but instead goes into great detail to make sure you know that he really did do exactly as the LORD commanded. I remember the odd specificity of the ordination rite very well, probably because I had to look up so much of it in the Japanese. So unlike previous times, I can indeed tell you that Moses follows it to the T.

There isn’t much for me to add beyond that. Moses consecrates Aaron and the priests, and it takes seven days, during which they eat nothing but what was offered in the sacrifice. This is “to make atonement” for them (v 34). Is this a general thing for all priests, a way of purging their old sins before they can become representatives of the people before God? Or is this specifically for Aaron, who was responsible for building the Golden Calf?

The Japanese: seibetsu “consecration” (v 2), shoushuu suru “to summon, to convene” (v 3), furimaku “to sprinkle” (v 11), kanryou suru “to complete” (v 33), chuuya “day and night,” tessuru “to go through, to devote oneself, to do intently and exclusively,” takusu “to entrust” (v 35), jisshi “enforcement, enactment, carrying out” (v 36).

