This chapter really emphasizes how everyone was very enthusiastic about making the tabernacle, the altars, the clothes, the oil, how they all voluntarily handed over their things and how the women worked hard to spin the necessary thread. Their hearts were stirred, and the their spirits were willing. (v 21)

Call me an awful cynic, but if a guy who came down from a mountain with his face literally glowing (34:29-34), who had previously had a bunch of his fellow tribesmen go out and kill three thousand of us (32:25-29), and who had the power of God backing him up, came out and asked me to give him a lot of stuff — well, I’d give him my stuff, but I’m not sure you can truly call it voluntary in this context.

Sometimes I think the Bible forgets about the order of events. Either that, or the creases in merged narratives are showing again.

There’s not a whole lot else that caught my attention in this passage. And looking ahead at the next set of chapters…well, we’ll talk about that next time. For tonight, let’s have this one be a short entry.

The Japanese: menou “agate” (v 9), tomenokane “clasp” (v 11), koushi “lattice” (v 16), kui “post, stake” (v 18), eridome “collar clasp” (v 22), zuii “voluntary, optional” (v 29), choukokushi “sculptor,” juuji suru “to engage in, to practice,” kouan suru “to invent, to think up” (v 35).

This chapter’s Japanese felt a lot like a review test to see how much of the past vocabulary I remembered, and I think for the most part I passed!

